Welcome to FAB Lovelies!

A Lifestyle blog that focuses on all things from fashion to beauty; fitness to weight loss; recipes to coupons; books to movies; travels to entertainment; and everything in between.

Friday, December 6, 2019

In Between Days by Anne Jamison - Book Tour - Exclusive Excerpt - Giveaway - Enter Daily!


Hi, lovelies!  It gives me great pleasure today to host Anne Jamison and her new book, “In Between Days”!  For other stops on her Goddess Fish Promotions Book Tour, please click on the banner above or any of the images in this post.

Be sure to make it to the end of this post to enter to win a $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble Gift Card!!  Also, come back daily to interact with Anne and to increase your chances of winning!

Thanks for stopping by!  Wishing you lots of luck in this fabulous giveaway!


In Between Days
by Anne Jamison

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: Young Adult

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Chicago suburbs, 1985. The high school. The mall. The blood-stained Mercedes. Misogyny. Homophobia. Class warfare. Cocaine.

(And the first semester isn’t even over yet.)

The Jocks with their pastel Izods. The Barbies. The loser Burnouts.

High school in the 1980s had rules. Barbies and Jocks can mix. Barbie cheerleaders steer clear of the losers. Punks want to burn it all down.

Samantha Ward doesn't love the rules, but she plays to win. So when a snarky Burnout goes after her in a face-off, of course she fights back. Of course she fights mean. She may not get his sex joke, but she knows he made one. About her. In front of the entire cafeteria. And what's worse, she feels a tingle when she looks at bad-boy Jason.

How could she know her mean girl put-down would launch a war? Or that the school she knows hides a darker world she never even dreamed of?

In Between Days is a pitch-perfect story of first love, friendship, and enemies; of loyalty, betrayal, and the power of secrets. This darkly funny, suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of The Outsiders and The Breakfast Club.

"GRIPPING AND UNPUTDOWNABLE." --Christina Lauren, international bestselling authors of Dating You/Hating You “THIS WAS a bittersweet tumble into eighties high school nostalgia, with all the angst, sexual tension and emotional confusion involved with first love, and so well done it was a non-stop read to the end.… (Oh, and one of the best first kisses I have EVER read...),” says one reviewer

Author’s Note: This is a historical novel that contains period language that is, and was then, and should be, offensive.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCLUSIVE EXCERPT:

Caterpillar-Lover was talking to some Oriental chick who was cute enough but she had on a cheer uniform which was like wearing a big sign that said “Check me out, I’m brain dead.” All in all, nothing to make Jason ache for the lost opportunities of teendom.

But then Peppy the Asian and Caterpillar-Lover moved out of the way.

Now. That was not the kind of girl he liked. She was the opposite. He liked girls with an edge and really, he liked girls who liked him. Because otherwise why bother?

But. He’d probably seen her before, but now—he really saw her. And he had to admit she was totally beautiful. In a blonde, pinky-perfect kind of way—but with these eyes like from some old painting, and —well. Jason shifted. He saw gold at her throat and pearls on her ears and when she turned, he swore to God she looked right through him. Like he might have stayed in the fucking graveyard. Like she would have had a better chance of seeing him if he’d been a ghost.

Skinny came up to him—literally, only part way, his head only reached Jason’s shoulder. “See something you like, man? You’ve got those jocks down there beyond pissed off, I love it.”

Jason shook his head. “Nah, nothing there I’d wanna shake a stick at, know what I mean?” That wasn’t, strictly, how Jason thought about girls. In fact, he thought it was shitty to talk about them that way. But the same rage that had started boiling with the jocks now started freezing at that girl with her pearls and her gold and her unseeing goddamn eyes.

Not-Prissy-in-any-way-shape-or-form-Hines nudged him on the other side, back from her locker. Second bell rang and the hall was in motion. Pris and Skinny and Jason stayed in place, leaning against the lockers and watching the teens stream by. Pris said in a low voice, “That blonde girl? The really pretty one?”

Skinny snorted, “That hot as hell piece of ass with the stick rammed up it? Yeah.”

Pris addressed herself more exclusively to Jason. “Whatever. Well, do you know who that is?”

Jason thought a minute. “Maybe her name is Samantha or Stephanie. She’s one of those. You know. Popular girls. Barbies. I don’t really give a shit about them.”

Pris rolled her eyes. “Right. Like you were ignoring her just then in the worst way.”

“Fine. She does—stand out a bit. But you know?” He turned to Skinny. “Those dudes and those chicks are really starting to bug the shit out of me.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AUTHOR BIO:


Anne Jamison is the author of three critical books, including Fic: Why Fanfiction is Taking Over the World. She lives in Salt Lake City with her dogs, her son, and an avant-garde poet. She is an English professor, but not the kind that corrects your grammar (unless she is actively grading your paper). In Between Days is her first novel.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

CONNECT WITH ANNE:

Website:

Email:
anne.jamison@utah.edu

Facebook:

Twitter:

Instagram:

BookBub Author Page:

BookBub Book Page:

Goodreads Author Page:

Goodreads Book Page:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BOOK BUY LINKS:

Amazon Kindle eBook:

Amazon Paperback:

Barnes and Noble NOOK eBook:

Barnes and Noble Paperback:

Kobo eBook #1:

Kobo eBook #2:

Apple iBook eBook:

The Book Depository Paperback:

BAM! Books-A-Million Paperback:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GIVEAWAY INFO:

Anne will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via Rafflecopter during the tour.


**This post contains affiliate links and if clicked and a purchase is made, I may receive a small commission to help support this blog.  This does not cost you anything, it just helps pay for all those awesome giveaways on here.**

This contest is sponsored by a third party. Fabulous and Brunette is a registered host of Goddess Fish Promotions.  Prizes are given away by the sponsors and not Fabulous and Brunette. The featured author and Goddess Fish Promotions are solely responsible for the giveaway prize.

19 comments:

  1. Who was your favorite character to write in your book?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. (I replied to this earlier but wasn't logged in.) Jason was the most fun, then Pris a close second, although she is getting the prequel I am writing now, so that probably says something. Samantha was the most difficult--she maybe changes the most, which is interesting, but she is also more like kids who made life difficult for me, at least at the outset, than like me. But they all have some pretty major flaws, which can be uncomfortable writing, but interesting.

      Delete
  2. HAPPY HAPPY Friday! *confetti* thanks for reading and saying hi :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thank you so much for hosting the excerpt, fab brunette!

    ReplyDelete
  4. How did you come up with the title of the book?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. A lot of the book is inspired by music from that era. That song captures a sense of time that's both slow-moving and fast-paced in a way I think growing up sometimes feels like. There are a lot of ways that in-between-ness is important to the book, the way you can be caught in between friends and groups, different kinds of feelings, in between other people's ideas about you, and also between childhood and adulthood

      Delete
  5. Are any of the people in the book based on real people that you know?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Not really. There are bits of people I know or knew in lots of the characters, but most of them start out as recognizable pop culture types and then become more complicated as the characters themselves challenge the type they are in. The exception to that is Pris, because there wasn't really a type for her in the pop culture of the day. I knew badass punk rock girls in real life, and there were movies about punk rockers. But there wasn't much representation or awareness or even language for different kinds of sexual or gender identities, especially not for teen girls.

      Delete
  6. Replies
    1. I really appreciate your saying that. It was my daughter's design. It's not really a straight-up YA cover, which is not recommended for indie authors (covers should be very much in line with genre conventions), but I liked it, and since the whole reason I published indie was because I could do whatever I wanted to, I kept it.

      Delete
  7. What do you most enjoy about writing?

    ReplyDelete
  8. In fiction, I like it when characters talk in my head and I can just write down what they say. In any kind of writing, I like it when a sentence or phrase has a rhythm or sound I like.

    ReplyDelete